Skip to main content
The right people make the all the difference. We’re proud of the many researchers, volunteers, and staff who work to ensure the continued success of Dalhousie Medical Research Foundation. Our Foundation is comprised of a team of expert fundraising, administrative, communications, and financial experts who care about advancing health research outcomes in the Maritimes and beyond.

If you have inquiries for a specific team member, please contact our team and you will be connected to the appropriate person.  

Our Team

Executive

Joanne Bath Head Shot WEB

Joanne Bath
Chief Executive Officer
joanne.bath@dal.ca

Philanthropy

Jen Laurette Head Shots WEB

Jen Laurette, CFRE
Director, Philanthropy 
jen.laurette@dal.ca

1 M4 A0211

Carol Murray, CFRE
Manager, Annual and Planned Giving 
carol.murray@dal.ca

Person

Michelle Paradis
Manager, Prospect Research
michelle.paradis@dal.ca

Simone Spears Head Shot WEB

Simone Spears
Senior Development Officer
simone.spears@dal.ca

Amanda Scarff Head Shot WEB

Amanda Scarff
Senior Officer, Donor Impact and Accountability
amanda.scarff@dal.ca

Communications & Marketing

Christena Copeland

Christena Copeland, BPr, MEd, Counselling
Director, Communications 
christena.copeland@dal.ca

Erin Mc Kenna Head Shot WEB

Erin McKenna
Officer, Communications & Marketing
erin.mckenna@dal.ca

Dayna Park Head Shot WEB

Dayna Park 
Officer, Communications & Marketing
dayna.park@dal.ca

Finance, Administration & Information Management

Matt King Head Shot WEB

Matt King, CPA, CA 
Director, Finance & Operations
matt.king@dal.ca  

Jeff Brown Head Shot WEB

Jeffrey Brown
Information Services Officer 
jeffrey.brown@dal.ca

Person

Dina T. Teixeira
Office Manager
dina.teixeira@dal.ca

Person

Laurel Purcell
Office Clerk
laurel.purcell@dal.ca

Join DMRF

Find your place with DMRF

The collaborative nature of our Philanthropy, Communications, and Operations teams is vital to our success and we are always looking for dynamic, talented individuals who share our passion for health research and philanthropy

See available positions

Board of Directors

Our outstanding board brings an incredible wealth of knowledge, expertise and determination to the work we do every day. With a diverse skill set, strong business acumen, and a passion for health, our Board members provide the exceptional leadership and strategic direction that advancing health research demands.

Board of Directors Roundtable photo

Officers

Janet Mac Millan Headshot 2020

Ms. Janet MacMillan
Chair

Mike Durland Headshot

Mr. Michael Durland
Vice Chair

Joanne pic 1

Ms. Joanne Bath
Chief Executive Officer

Directors

TALEB HEADSHOT

Mr. Taleb Abidali
Halifax

Alice Aiken headshot 002

Dr. Alice Aiken
Halifax

Rob Barbara

Mr. Rob Barbara
Halifax

Sarah Dennis

Ms. Sarah Dennis
Halifax

Malcolm Fraser

Mr. Malcolm Fraser
Halifax

Allan Horsburgh

Mr. Allan Horsburgh

Charles Mac Quarrie

Mr. Charles MacQuarrie
Truro

Peter Mann

Mr. Peter Mann
Toronto

Kate O Brien 1

Dr. Kate O’Brien
Switzerland

Joe Ramia

Mr. Joe Ramia
Halifax

Ex-Officios

Deep Saini

Dr. Deep Saini
Halifax

David Anderson

Dr. David Anderson
Halifax

James Fawcett

Dr. James Fawcett
Halifax

Kathy O Briend

Dr. Kathy O’Brien
Halifax

Scientific Advisory Committee

The peer review process is essential to the Foundation’s activities as a granting agency. The Scientific Advisory Committee is a body, at arm’s-length from the Board, that independently adjudicates applications based on scientific merit. The time offered by these volunteers is sincerely appreciated.

Scientific Advisory Committee Conference room pic

Dr. Jim Fawcett, Chair
Department of Pharmacology

Dr. Roger McLeod, (Ex-Officio)
Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

Dr. T. Alexander Quinn
Department of Physiology & Biophysics

Dr. Christopher Sinal
Department of Pharmacology

Dr. Jill Chorney
Department of Pediatrics

Dr. Janie Astephen Wilson
Department of Biomedical Engineering

Dr. Leah Cahill
Department of Medicine

Dr. Eileen Denovan-Wright
Department of Pharmacology

Dr. Ian Rainey
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Ms. Joanne Bath, (Ex-Officio)
Chief Executive Officer, DMRF